Bankruptcy Forum

Credit Card Fraud ALERT!!!

tinroofrusted
04-18-2005, 12:58 PM
To all of you who are in discharge, or have just gotten discharged.

If a company called “Beneficial” calls to offer you an unsecured Mastercard, DO NOT accept! This is a fraudulent company. They called me today wanting to take $249.00 out of my bank account. I thought it sounded too good to be true, so I did a little research, and sure enough, they are not a real company, and won’t issue a real card, period. It will be one of those “only buy from our catalog” companies, or they’ll just take your money and run.

Just wanted to give y’all the heads up!

HHM
04-18-2005, 01:00 PM
Thanks for the update.

If possible, can you post a link to the site you checked, the only reason I ask is the Beneficial is a real financial company that does offer loans.

tinroofrusted
04-18-2005, 01:19 PM
Sure.
Here;s one: http://www.crimes-of-persuasion.com/Crimes/Telemarketing/Inbound/MinorIn/MoneyProbs/card_offers.htm

They are calling themselves "Sureway Beneficial" to make it sound legit.

Ripoffreport.com has dozens of listings for complaints against them!
http://www.ripoffreport.com/reports/ripoff138705.htm


and another one:
http://www.crimes-of-persuasion.com/Crimes/Telemarketing/telemarketing.htm

Ripoffreport is the best place to check though!

tressa
06-22-2005, 04:38 AM
Another company that is similar is NACS or Liberty Group. My husband fell for this back in 2000 and we are still fighting them to get off the CR! What a big mistake.

Tgolfer123
06-27-2005, 10:34 AM
wow, thanks for the heads up. i'm going to keep a watchful eye out for them!

Tim