Objection To Discharge By Creditor

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Objection To Discharge By Creditor

I was sued for the balance of a car that was reposessed. I made arrangements to pay it off monthly, but defaulted on the payments. I filed ch. 7 bk and listed this creditor on there. They filed a motion to object the discharge. What do I do? Can I call the attorney that filed this to see if I can make payment arrangements, or is that not an available option? How does paying off a creditor affect the rest of the bankruptcy? I am scared because this is my first time filing bk, I don't have an attorney, don't have money to hire an attorney, and I'm really just clueless as to what I am suppose to do next. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

I think this creditor knows this creditor knows you don't have a lawyer. This debt is dischargeable in bankruptcy but what they are trying to do is trying to trick you in paying the debt. Ask the court's clerk what you got to do.
    Golden Jubilee was a year-long celebration held every 50 years in which all bondmen were freed, mortgaged lands were restored to the original owners, and land was left fallow: Lev. 25:8-17

Comment

Originally posted by colemcl View Post
      I was sued for the balance of a car that was reposessed. I made arrangements to pay it off monthly, but defaulted on the payments. I filed ch. 7 bk and listed this creditor on there. They filed a motion to object the discharge. What do I do?
      I assume that you filed pro se. Without details of exactly what's in the motion, I can't tell you what their issue is.

Can I call the attorney that filed this to see if I can make payment arrangements, or is that not an available option?
      You do not need to make any payment arrangements. Assume that this will be discharged in the Bankruptcy.