Motorcycle considered luxury item?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Motorcycle considered luxury item?

Sorry to be full of questions. filed chapter 13 in May 2016, let dismiss per lawyer to re-file this month so my debts could be discharged. Question is I have 1 car and a motorcycle. Had both in last filing plan confirmed no problems. This time the lawyer said they will probably consider the motorcycle a luxury item and make me give it back, not let it be in the plan.

He said didn't matter last time since the unsecured debts could not be discharged, but since they will be this time they will deny putting the mc in the plan and request the unsecured debts be paid. MY daughter co-signed for it so I was looking at protecting her as will.

I'm sure it would be considered a luxury item, but I'm no expert. My husband had two bikes when we filed. Only one was in our possession though. It was put through as an unsecured debt, and they came and repossessed the bike (for some strange reason my husband let them in the garage). I don't think anyone ever inquired about the other bike though. They are being paid through our plan, and the person (close family member) who my husband sold it to never fully paid us for it, and I later found out that the family member sold it even though he never had title to the bike, heck we didn't even have the title to the bike.
    Filed Chapter 13 with lien strip on 2-28-11 * 341 held on 3-30-11 * First confirmation hearing held 4-20-11, continued until 5-25-11, continued until 6-29-11, continued until 8-10-11. Plan finally confirmed on 8-10-11!!!

Comment

Originally posted by adam1028 View Post