Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice Needed

Hello,
    I'm new to this and am in need of some advice.

I am currently separated from my husband, and will file for divorce, once I'm done trying to straighten out my finances.

All of our accounts were in my name only, and he was added as the second user on the credit cards. Since the separation, he has not paid anything, and I had been barely able to make all of the payments (but I was able to make them, scraping by, and was current on all credit cards, loans, bills, etc., except for the mortgage payments).

The mortgage for the house was also in my name. There were two mortgages, one for about $260K and one for $60K. I did not want the house, and was fine letting it go into foreclosure. However, the second mortgage company, Citi, sold the mortgage to another company, who sold it to a collection agency (DCS), and the correspondences from them referred to the debt as a collection for $60K, and no mention of the house, as if it was not a mortgage debt. Also, on my credit report, it was not listed under mortgages.

With that $60K, I wouldn't be able to pay my bills (at least I wouldn't be able to pay that one). I went to meet with a consumer credit counseling agency, and I referred to the $60K as a debt that seemed to no longer be tied to the mortgage, and the counselor seemed to take what I said and included that payment in what would have been a debt repayment plan. Well, it was undoable, so she referred me to a bankruptcy attorney.