There is hope for everyone . . .

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

There is hope for everyone . . .

I am posting this to share a little bit here, and offer maybe a glimmer of hope to others in the same boat:

MY BK was not a huge amount (but then again, that depends on what you compare it to). I was working full time for min wage, and living from check to check. By the time I got paid every two weeks, I had already been broke for 3 days, hoping I had enough gas to get me through.

I worked full time as a temp, and my employer kept promising me a "career" with a huge promotion. I really felt he was sincere so I toughed it out. Then one day, my car died. Engine repair would cost about $1,200. Without a car, I don't work. But how can I fix my car with no money?

I did the only thing I could think of. I used my rent money to fix my car . . rent went late. Credit cards went late or underpaid, hoping to catch up later. BUT . . one late $40 credit card payment resulted in huge fees, and a new minimum payment that was triple what it had been previously. If I can't pay $40/month, how could I now pay $120 a month? Soon late fees became late AND over the limit fees. I began an ugly spiral downwards. Can't come out of it. Interest rates on Credit cards rose to 24%. Creditors called every day. Some were decent and worked with me. Other creditors were bull dogs.

In about 8 months time, my old CC bills of $3,000 were now a whopping $8,000 due to late fees, over limit fees, and ridiculous APR. My car finally DIED, and I tried my best to get a loan for a cheap car . . but guess what? No bank wants to give me a loan for a cheap car with low payments, because of my bad credit. The banks would only give me a loan for a brand new car, so there would be equity. GREAT . . so here we go.