Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mortgage Lender filing for Relief from Automatic Stay

Hi everybody,

I filed for Chapter 13 in March 2010. I have since fallen behind 2 months on my mortgage, and I received a notice of final hearing today stating that the lender had filed for relief from the automatic stay. What do I do...is there anything I can do? Should I contact my lender myself or deal only with my attorney?

Thanks for your input!

I am no expert but I can anticipate you will get LOTS of responses telling you to contact your attorney immediately. That is what you paid them for. I am sure if there is anything that can be done, the attorney will need to be involved. I honestly doubt the lender would probably discuss it with you anyway knowing you are represented and would not want to violate the law. I will let everyone else with more experience chime in now. Good luck to you!
    Chapter 13 Filed November 10, 2010 Indiana - Southern District - United States Seventh Circuit
    Attended 341 hearing 12/15/2010

Comment

Well, they are going to try to foreclose on you... I believe this is why they want the stay lifted. As said above, contact your attorney immediately.
      My kids better not put my FICO score on my headstone~ (quote by dspii)

Comment

good luck to you
        Ch 7 filed 8/15/11 341 9/22/11 Discharge 11/28/11
        The rebuilding begins

Comment

Contact your attorney stat. Is your attorney aware that you are behind on payments? If not, prepare to explain the situation.