File now or wait? Confused and scared

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

File now or wait? Confused and scared

I'm new here and can't even sleep at night due to the stress I'm under. I have approximately 24,000 in credit card debt and I make about 26,000 a year before taxes. Basically I have been robbing Peter to pay Paul for a few years now and it's all going to crash down on me soon. This is no one's fault but my own. I'm still current on all of my credit cards but barely. I have no extra money for saving for emergencies and here lately I have been very frugal about grocery shopping just out of fear of not being able to pay my bills. It's a horrible way to live. I have two concerns about filing next month. The first is that I have a discover card that I have made a few purchase on in the last three months. The last large purchase was in June for about 200.00 for a lawn mower. Mine was completely dead and my yard was growing like crazy so it was almost like a necessity. Before that, like back in may I had purchased a new set of box springs for my bed for about 100.00 because my bed was sagging and it was affecting my sleep. Will these purchases be considered luxury purchases even if at the time I file the purchases will have been made past 90 days? I have read some places where some creditors will look back to up so six months to see if there are any luxury items purchased. I used the card for other things too but not for large amounts. All in all since January I have maybe charged 900.00 to this card plus a balance transfer in the amount of 800.00. It was easier to make the payment through Discover then to navigate through Dell's website.