Never Filed Tax Returns. What to give TT before 341

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Never Filed Tax Returns. What to give TT before 341

Thanks in advance for your help. I filed ch. 7, and I have my 341 coming up in early January. The US Trustee is requesting the standard stuff before the 341 (previous year tax returns, bank statement reflecting filing day balance...). The last time I filed taxes was in 2002 for a paltry amount of income I had received for a summer job. I havent worked since. I've been living off of my parents and student loans, as I have been a student since '03. I'm looking to discharge some 40k in cc debt. Should I give the trustee the those '03 returns, or include in the packet a statement similar to what I've written here?

I am assuming your parents are claiming you as a dependent since it appears they are supporting so you would need to show that probably with a copy of their tax return which would list your name on the front as a dependent. If they are not claiming you as a dependent and you are not living with them and they are supplying you with funds, talk to your attorney because that could be considered income to you. The same if you are living with them and they are not claiming you as a dependent - their funds would be household income. Best of luck to you.

"A credit card is a snake in your pocket"

Comment

Probably don't even need to do that, there is affidavit that you fill out stating that you are not required to file a tax return.

Comment

I would agree that a person who is not required to file a tax return, under the IRS rules, may submit an affidavit, under penalty of perjury, indicating such.
        Chapter 7 (No Asset/Non-Consumer) Filed (Pro Se) 7/08 (converted from Chapter 13 - 2/10)
        Visit My BKForum Blog: justbroke's Blog

Any advice provided is not legal advice, but simply the musings of a fellow bankrupt.

Comment