Question about my mortgage & chp 7.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question about my mortgage & chp 7.

If I am not current on my payments will I still be able to file fo chapter 7? Or will I most likely need to file for chapter13?
    1.6.10 ~ Met with attorney.

Originally posted by ANewLeaf View Post
    If I am not current on my payments will I still be able to file fo chapter 7? Or will I most likely need to file for chapter13?
    I am not an expert however I am in the same situation as you are and from all of my research and talking to attorneys it seems to depend on the mortgage company if you are able to keep your house or not. Are you currently in some type of a trial mortgage workout or modification?
    -Filed Ch7 pro se 04/14/2010
    -341 Meeting is 05/24/2010 (went uneventfully well)
    -Report of No Distribution 6/4/2010
    -Discharge 7/28/2010

Comment

Originally posted by GettingGoing View Post
      I am not an expert however I am in the same situation as you are and from all of my research and talking to attorneys it seems to depend on the mortgage company if you are able to keep your house or not. Are you currently in some type of a trial mortgage workout or modification?
      I am, we're currently doing a modification. It doesn't matter to me if we keep the house, due to the fact that we do have another place to live if need be.

So if I can till fie for Chapter 7, I'd rather do that than having to file for 13.
      Last edited by ANewLeaf; 01-06-2010, 11:08 AM.

Comment

I am, we're currently doing a modification. It doesn't matter to me if we keep the house, due to the fact that we do have another place to leave if need be.

So if I can till fie for Chapter 7, I'd rather do that than having to file for 13.
        According to BK department at my mortgage lender, me filing ch7 bk will not alter or hurt my modification trial as long as I continue to make my payments on time.
        -Discharge 7/28/2010

Comment