Back to pre-2005 Laws anytime soon?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Back to pre-2005 Laws anytime soon?

Any sign of the laws reverting back to those of pre-2005 yet?

No, not gonna happen. Bk reform isn't anywhere near getting on the congressional radar.

Even if bk reform ever does get any serious attention, there won't be a return to the pre-2005 law. We'll get another "improved" version that will need years of litigation to set case law precedents all over again. No one is anxious to go there but us and the bk lawyers and judges who despite their best efforts couldn't stop the last 2005 "improvement" that created the mess we have now.
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

Originally posted by lrprn View Post

No, not gonna happen. Bk reform isn't anywhere near getting on the congressional radar.
      Maybe not, but this is a start in the right direction.

Comment

Originally posted by Stl49 View Post
        Maybe not, but this is a start in the right direction.

http://www.fastweb.com/financial-aid...-in-bankruptcy
        Good point! Absolutely agree this change to allow private SLs to be discharged in bankruptcy will finally provide some relief to those with private student loans who file now. The private SL lenders have had a field day since Oct 2005. We've had multiple tales of woe here by filers who are in complete despair because they are literally being held financial hostage to their SLs with no end in sight.