Loan from wife's parents

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Loan from wife's parents

My non-filing wife borrowed about $1000 from her mom in the run up to my eventual bankruptcy. The money is definitely loaned -- her mom expects it paid back in full at some point in time and we intend on paying her back.

My issue is that :
    a) there's no agreement in writing (this bothers me because I'm an attorney!)... I suppose we could memorialize the agreement in writing...
    b) the trustee is going to see these fairly regular deposits (three over the course of three months) on my bank statements, they're in cash (basically, mother-in-law deposits money into my wife's personal bank account in Boston, wife takes cash out of the ATM and deposits it in our joint account), and may try to consider it a "regular contribution to household expenses."

I've already ran the numbers and even if I include it as a "regular contribution" in the means test, I'm still fine because it averages out only to be $165/mo over the past 6 months, but I'd now be in positive DMI territory (+$3.60).

I just want to avoid any unnecessary conflict!
    Last edited by mb10240; 10-21-2010, 06:49 PM.
    Bazinga!

It's not really income if it's a loan. Problem is, in order to prove to the court that it's a loan, you'll need to list your mother-in-law as an unsecured creditor. Whatever you do, don't pay her back until the BK is done, otherwise the trustee can go after that money as an insider payment. The debt will technically be discharged in the bankruptcy but nothing stops you and your wife from paying her back after discharge.
    This post does not constitute legal advice. If you use my advice in place of a lawyer, God help you.

Comment

Originally posted by rjmwx81 View Post
      It's not really income if it's a loan. Problem is, in order to prove to the court that it's a loan, you'll need to list your mother-in-law as an unsecured creditor.