top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Ch 7 vs Ch 13 - Does it all come down to the house?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ch 7 vs Ch 13 - Does it all come down to the house?

My husband and I have been working on our bankruptcy for a few months with our attorney. When intially weighing our options, we were thinking that Ch 13 was best, as it discharged our home equity loan, and we wanted to stay in our house.

Now, we have a very viable option to move into a house and do not care what happens to the house we are in now (we had some mortgage troubles a year ago, and are currently current). While preparing for the 13, I realize that after the birth of our second child, we are still short $400 a month - who knows how bad it will be with a 13 payment. Our biggest expense is the house.

I'm considering short sales and just letting it foreclose. How would these effect bankruptcy? Would a ch 7 be a better option and allow us to walk away from this home dept? I have a call out to our legal office, but am hoping for some input here.

We are in Marlyand.
    Filed ch 13 12/23/10; closed 3/14; refiled ch 7 on 4/13; 341 on 5/13; reaffirmation 7/11 (denied); 7/14/11 DISCHARGED

So long as you don't sign a reaffirmation agreement as part of your chapter 7 bankruptcy filing, you will be able to completely walk away from the house with no subsequent liability. A second benefit is that you will be able to stay in the house, and not pay either of your mortgages and save that money until the lender actually forecloses.
    There are two secrets for success in life:
    1.) Never tell everything you know.

Comment

Originally posted by boomerkae View Post
      My husband and I have been working on our bankruptcy for a few months with our attorney. When intially weighing our options, we were thinking that Ch 13 was best, as it discharged our home equity loan, and we wanted to stay in our house.