Checking Account ??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Checking Account ??

Tried to look this up but did not know how to search for it...

We filed Chapter 7, we have a checking and savings account with one bank.
    We have no loans or credit cards with that bank only a debit card.
    BUT, my hubby's paycheck is direct deposited into that account.
    What are the chances the bank will freeze that account?

Thanks!
    R~
    Filed 5/25/2011
    341 Schd 6/17/2011 Requesting Reschedule

I'm not an expert, but my guess would be pretty unlikely. Unless they receive a garnishment order, that is. And since you've already filed, I think your creditors are prevented from doing anything of that sort while your "automatic stay" for the BK is in place.

I'm sure some of the experts will be along to respond with more specificity if there is any likelihood of your account being frozen that I'm unaware of.
    Figured out we were in trouble: (Wait, we're in trouble? ) Stopped paying creditors: Aug 2010 Filed Chap 7: Apr 29, 2011 341: Jun 1, 2011 Report of no distribution: Jun 1, 2011 Discharged Aug 2, 2011

Comment

Originally posted by jtrlm View Post

Thanks!
      No, they should not freeze your account, especially since you have no credit accounts at the bank. I asked my attorney the exact same question after I filed, his answer was "Absolutely not."
      Chapter 7 Filed: 04/21/2011, 341 Meeting: 05/31/2011, Report of No Distrubution: 06/02/2011, Discharged: 08/03/2011, Closed: 08/10/11

Comment

I worried about the same thing before we filed...we had two checking accounts with two different banks before we filed, we had a line of credit with one bank (which we'd actually managed to pay down to $1000, from $4000 two years ago!), and when we filed our petition, that account was frozen. Our other bank account is open.