HELP! Find the best way2 handle Chapter 7

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HELP! Find the best way2 handle Chapter 7

Hi, newbie here please take it easy on me! First, I want to thank you all in advance for your prompt attention regarding my situation, for sharing your insights & contributing to my few questions below:

1. I know filing a bankruptcy should be a last resort but please try to help me if I need to file for Chapter 7 now?
    2. Is it a difficult process nowadays? Can you do the BK process online? As I don't even have a transportation to seek out for help/free consultation.
    3. How much it will cost nowadays? In 2001, when I filed my chapter err 7/13 (I guess 13 since I had a condo back then which I sold in 2002) it was only for less than $500.00 using a paralegal.
    4. Is there a link/guide for processing chapter 7? Step-by-step procedure for doing it yourself?
    5. Should I file myself as it is a straight forward chapter 7 credit card bills for $18K (from 4 cards total all in my name only) and no assets (not even a car?) Is it doable? Especially, that I can't afford a lawyer at this time?

Am I a candidate for BK7 ? I am worried what will happen after I start not paying my minimum payments this coming weeks... I am so close to maxing out on all four credit cards but until now, I never had any late payments so far. With less than $300.00 in checking now it will be really difficult to pay them now and no savings.

A brief background, I am unemployed the the last 4 years and recently on medical therapy (expensive stuff) health care for the state and can't afford to work until I take care of my illness (duration 1 year treatment.) My doctor even suggested to even apply for a disability now. I have no income whatsoever at this time and I am living with my sister who said to apply for food stamps too or she will kick me out!