What would you do?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What would you do?

I retired 10 years ago from my former employer with a pension and social security and a small 401K fund. Recently my former employer filed chapter 11 bankruptcy and it wiped out my pension. Now I have to get by on my social security check. I have about $60,000 in credit card debt and have a motor home that I have been paying on for 9 years which I can't sell because I owe about $10,000 more on it than its current value. I have considered filing chapter 7 bankruptcy and have retained an attorney and have completed the pre BK debt counseling and are waiting for the 6 month window before filing to clear out a 401K withdraw I made to cover some expenses (didn't know that I would be filing), but I have mixed feelings about doing it. I have thought about going back to work and trying to pay off some of my debt but I am 75 years old and not sure if I could get a decent job or if my health would stand up to it. What would you do? I appreciate your opinion.

No way on this earth would I start working at your age just to pay cc debt.
    File your bk and then maybe get a pt job and use the money to supplement SS. You need to take care of yourself first.

Comment

I agree, I wouldn't go back to work. Even if you could go back to work, realistically, how much extra would you have to pay down the credit card debt.

Your minimum payments alone are what...$1,200 to $1,500. If you paid $1,200 per month until you were out of debt (assuming a 9% interest rate), it would take you 63 months to pay that debt off.

If I were you, I would stay the course with the BK, it's seems to be the best option.

Comment

I filed BK to get out from under a mobile home that I owed more on than it was worth and because of CC debt. There's nothing worse than being upside down on a loan and having CC debt. I agonized over the decision to file but when I finally did it I felt very relieved that it was finally over.