Newbie here: Stupid, Stupid Girl.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie here: Stupid, Stupid Girl.

Hi. This is not exactly where I "want" to be.

Here's my story: I got a college degree 10 years ago and came to this town (shall remain nameless) after hearing there were "plenty of opportunities" for those in my field. I moved here with every thing I had only to find that there were no "real" jobs in my field here. I was left with zero money, no chance of getting out or going to school. 6 years ago, I bought a house. I don't know what I was thinking-- perhaps something to the effect of "I want to be involved in the "American Dream," or, "If you can't fight them join them." Well-- I have been-- the nightmare that is-- low wages-- an unending night job/ w no weekends or holidays. 9/11 happened. No more raises at work, no more cost of living adjustments. They fired nearly everyone except me, and so I am overworked, doing jobs that were once done by a whole "crew."

3 years ago I broke my leg. That's when the bankruptcy actually began. I had insurance, but my deductible was 5000.00 dollars. I got a loan, but also had to charge a lot more on my credit card, about 3000.00 (included physical therapy, etc all after care. Things not covered by medical insurance.) My car died, and I got a new used one. I started "Robbing Peter to Pay Paul" regularly. Then, when I was still in a cast, my father died and I was left with the task of paying for the funeral. I started to use the credit card to "cover" for the rest of the month-- to pay for food and bills. The Operation on my leg cut nerves and veins and now I am probably going to lose my leg without another 5000.00 surgery...ETC... see where this is going???