Business Debt Bankruptcy Question, Investment properties

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Business Debt Bankruptcy Question, Investment properties

I own 15 rental properties as my business (over 2 million in secured debt). A few of them are so far upside down, and I am letting them go into foreclosure. I also owe over $330K (used to finance the property business) in unsecured debt, which is why I have to file for bankruptcy, as I cannot afford to make payments on this debt anymore.

My goal is to keep around 10 properties which I am current on and can afford to pay the mortgages on those. None of them have any equity, so my question is, am I allowed to keep them in a Chapter 7 since they have no equity whatsoever in them?

The income I make from these properties is how I make my living, and from what I have read, since over 50% of my debt is business debt, I don't have to worry about the means test. Not that I make all that much income from the buisness anyway, but it is enough to get by.

**I really need to keep all 10 of these current mortgage properties, since all though they have no equity and are worth nothing now, I am starting an assemblage I think an investor will be interested in someday. I have worked for 5 years on this project, and I don't want to give that up if I can help it***

I would be willing to go Chapter 13, (which would def protect my properties) but my debts are too high to make that an option. But as far as I can tell, with no equity to go for, the Trustee wouldn't likely want to sell my houses or put me out of business. I hope!

Has anyone had an experience with business debt or investment property in Chapter 7 that they could share some insight or thoughts? I would really appreciate it!!

If there is no equity, then the properties are not at risk as far as the bankruptcy trustee is concerned.