top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bankruptcy in Indiana for someone who just moved to New York?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bankruptcy in Indiana for someone who just moved to New York?

Hi folks! I'm a bankruptcy newbie and this is my first post.

The main question here is should/can I file bankruptcy in Indiana or New York? I ran up credit card debt in Indiana, but am currently "visiting" New York (just got here). I am currently unemployed and sleeping on a friends floor and not paying rent anywhere. I own no real estate and my assetes are few. I feel like I'm homeless. I have an Indiana driver's license.

The summary is above. The details are below.

---

Unfortunately, I'm unemployed and I've run up quite a lot of credit card debt, more than $55000. I ran up the debt over several years while living in Indiana, but I'm currently sleeping on the floor at a friends place in New York state and looking for a job. I am not married.

My assets are few:
    • an old car
    • clothes
    • 2 ancient (7+ years) PCs of minimal value
    • assorted personal bric-a-brac which is not worth much.

If I'm going to get/keep a job I need the car. I'm not sure what the value of the car is ... see below. I believe that the car is in "good condition," not fair or very good.

Car value via Kelly Blue Book
    Trade in value (at a dealer) of my car in "good condition" is $3400.
    Private party value (private sale) of my car in "good condition" is $4700.

But, if I look on AutoTrader.com it seems like the car sells for more like $7000 - $8000.