• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thought I'd never be facing BK.....

but I am.

Questions:

1) Chapter 7 or 13

I'm unemployed currenly, I have about 30,000 in CC debt, a car note, and 33,000 in student loans.

2) Do I do it on my own or get a lawyer?

3) Will I have to lose my car?

4) Rebuilding, will ever be able to buy a home, have credit, etc?

Help!

Chapter 7, do it on your own (called Pro Se), dump the car and the car note, get a house in about two years after discharge. Your student loans will follow you no matter what, just like a puppy...good luck!
    NOTE: I am not a lawyer...any advice I give is for entertainment purposes only. Legal questions should be directed to competent counsel. I am just a troll. Or a Toad.

Comment

Originally posted by hazeleye View Post
      but I am.

Questions:

1) Chapter 7 or 13

I'm unemployed currenly, I have about 30,000 in CC debt, a car note, and 33,000 in student loans.

2) Do I do it on my own or get a lawyer?

3) Will I have to lose my car?

4) Rebuilding, will ever be able to buy a home, have credit, etc?

Help!
      1.) You won't qualify for Chapter 13 because you're unemployed. You might qualify for a chapter 7, but make sure you put enough time in between your last credit card charge and the filing date.
      2.) It depends on how complicated your situation is. Go see a few for free before deciding this issue.
      3.) Probably yes. It depends on how much it is worth and what your state allows for vehicle exemptions.
      4.) Yes, but try to be more careful this time around. Try to live a life without credit cards, and you will see that you will be able to save back huge amounts of money over time because instead of impulsively spending money on plastic, you will think long and hard about each purchase before shelling out hard earned cash.
      The world's simplest C & D Letter:
      "I demand that you cease and desist from any communication with me."