child support in tennessee & bankrupty

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

child support in tennessee & bankrupty

Just a few questions for the experts here on the board. I am a resident in Tennessee who makes approx 42000 a year. I am new divorced and loyally pay 1200 a mnth in child support which reduces my yearly income by arounf 14000. My ? is this. Will my income be based before the child support or after for the means test. Also the means test considers family member, if my wife has primary residental parenting do I still get to claim as a family of 3 if we have 2 children or will I just claim as a family of 1. Hope that makes some sense. Thanks so much.

Welcome to BK Forum - glad you found us!

Originally posted by Mommy22 View Post
    Will my income be based before the child support or after for the means test.
    Before. The six-month lookback figure that used on bankruptcy forms is gross income from all sources.

Also the means test considers family member, if my wife has primary residental parenting do I still get to claim as a family of 3 if we have 2 children or will I just claim as a family of 1. Hope that makes some sense. Thanks so much.
    Depends on who will claim the children as dependents on their taxes - you or your ex. This may be stated in your divorce papers. If you claim both kids, then you are a family of 3. If you can't claim either child as dependents, then you are a family of 1.