Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Musical instruments for professionals

Hi - Newbie here,

To what extent are musical instruments and equipment exempt if you are a part time professional musician (with a track record of playing music for many years professionally to back up that statement)?

Can you keep different guitars for different sounds or do they let you just keep one guitar? How much of this overlaps "tools of the trade"?

Thinking about Chap. 7 after a year's unemployment (in music and otherwise) got me into a big hole ....

Thanks,
    Dave

Bring those to pawn/music shops for written estimate/appraisal. Give papers to trustee as secured statement/proofs.

Comment

Proofs of what? Ownership & value?
      What I want to know is can I keep multiple guitars in a Chapter 7. If I can't then I would not file a Chapter 7, or I'd go ahead and give my child his inheritance early.
      Thanks,
      Dave

Comment

You need to know the values of such items because it is possible that these items would be an asset for the Trustee to sell and then distribute the monies to your creditors. This is usually rare with musical instruments, unless it's a Baby Grand piano. I bought a new Drumset about 4.5 years ago and 2 years before filing, I bought a Bass Guitar and amp. The Trustee asked if he could get $1000 for the drums, I said no and he left it alone. Although, I paid $1200 for the kit brand new, so there was not enough value for the trouble to seize.

With regards to your child's early inheritance, it is not wise to transfer property before filing BK......so many numbers these days, I can't remember how many days before filing you can not transfer assets.
        Bankruptcy History:
        Chapter 7 filed - 10/12/2005 - Asset
        Discharged - 02/16/2006
        Case Closed - 11/08/2007

A banker is a fellow who lends you his umbrella when the sun is shining and wants it back the minute it begins to rain ~ Mark Twain