Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Oregon Wage Garnishment Help Please!

Hi there,

I was hoping you guys could give me a little advice. I am living in the state of Oregon. I have an old credit card from around 2000 that went to collections a long time ago. The original amount was probably for around $1,200 and I made a few payments on it when I had the money. Anyway, I recently received a letter that I was being garnished (never had a court hearing, but admittedly ignored previous threats of legal action) for the original amount plus about 3 grand in attorney fees. The strange thing is, they have my old employer listed (and they didn't actually pay us anything, we were independent contractors). I am currently an unemployed student with NO income or assets (barely getting by as it is), basically living off of financial aid and money from parents/bf to get me through the summer. I don't want to file bankruptcy either. What other ways are they able to go after me if not by my wages, income, or assets? What are my rights and am I able to appeal? FYI, I will be graduating soon and have plans to leave the country to teach for a year...

Thanks for your help!
    Broke student

Also, I had my previous employer sign a letter stating I am no longer an employee and that we never received wages.

I don't own a car and simply rent an apartment.

Thanks again!

Comment

What else is there, besides wages, income or assets? But seriously, they can levy your bank account, so you may need to go underground until you leave for South Korea or whichever Pacific Rim country you are going to teach english ( I am just guessing that is what your plans are).

Good Luck
      Disclaimer: I am not an actor on TV, but I play a BK Paralegal in real life. Nothing I say should be construed as legal advice, or really anything but entertainment. Please seek out professional help.

Comment