Is this a wise move?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Is this a wise move?

I live in California and plan on filing a chapter 13 as an individual (I'm married).
    I am a mechanic by trade and I own about 8k in tools. I am in a position to upgrade my equipment by trading up for some newer tools / tool box. If I do this I will lose about 1/2 my equity and will go in debt about 8k.
    I know people do this by purchasing a new vehicle before filing but I want to make sure this is a simular situation...I have a simular issue with my vehicles (they're both paid for) but I don't really forsee the need for a new vehicle in the next 3 -5 years. I will need the tools as they will help me increase my income and help keep it stable..

Anybody do anything simular before filing? I don't want my case thrown out because of this...

Thanks!
    Don't take life too seriously, you won't get out alive.

I'm not unsympathetic to your situation, but I've been browsing the forums a lot more than usual lately, and I am struck by how many people are contemplating new debt on the eve of bankruptcy. I know there are all kinds of reasons, wants, whatever - but what does this really say about what we've learned from all of this? One person who's posted recently is talking about how tough things still are, and he was discharged early last year! It's very sad.
    BKForum Blog: The Journey

sigpic

Comment

I don't know the answer, but I see that there is an exemption for Tools of Trade in California. See this link:

I can see where it is important to have your tools up to date. I don't know if that would be a red flag to your Trustee or not. I do know that the Trustee will require you to not take on additional debt during your 13 without permission. So you may want to upgrade prior to your filing. This is where your attorney is invaluable...what triggers special examination by your specific Trustee? Your attorney should know.