New Car?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New Car?

I will be filing ch. 7 sometime in the future but I'm trying to make sure I have everything figured out first. My question is regarding my tax return.

I will be getting a $6000 tax return and I would like to use the money to buy and much needed new vehicle. I will be using Nevada exemptions, which allow $15000 in equity in a motor vehicle. My question is... how long should I wait between purchasing the vehicle and filing BK?

Thanks for any advice!

As long as you don't buy a vehicle that's valued over $15K, you should be fine. Might as well do the deed as soon as you receive the refund to put as much time as possible between the purchase and filing (although it really doesn't matter much as long as the purchase is done and completed before filing). Be sure to confirm this with your lawyer BEFORE doing anything (if you are using one).
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

Originally posted by lrprn View Post
      As long as you don't buy a vehicle that's valued over $15K, you should be fine. Might as well do the deed as soon as you receive the refund to put as much time as possible between the purchase and filing (although it really doesn't matter much as long as the purchase is done and completed before filing). Be sure to confirm this with your lawyer BEFORE doing anything (if you are using one).
      Why not over 15K?

Comment