top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What happens to my paycheck after filing?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What happens to my paycheck after filing?

I just went back to work and we are going to file for Chapter 7 in January. I've been researching BK for two years and didn't have any income to worry about during the BK. Now that I have direct deposit what happens during the 30 days after filing and before the 341 meeting. From what I know, everything we have becomes the property of trustee during that time. What happens to my income and how do we have access to money to live during that time??? Any help/answers would be greatly appreciated!!!

If you have Wells Fargo change banks 'cause they will freeze your account. If not, you get to use your income for your living expenses like normal.
    7-2-2009 Filed
    8-28-09 341 Concluded, no assets
    10-28-09 DISCHARGED/CLOSED!!!!

Comment

If you are afraid that your bank will freeze your account there is always www.skylight.net which is an online bank. I had accounts with BB&T, BOA and Army Federal Credit Union. None were frozen.

Comment

My impression is that the things you have -- or are due to you -- on the day you filed become the property of the bankruptcy estate administered by the trustee, and that if you work after filing and receive further income from that work, it's yours.

Does Wells Fargo freeze the account itself, or just the funds that were in it at the time they heard of the filing?

I asked a possibly-related question in http://www.bkforum.com/showthread.php?p=347299 which may help.
        Last edited by mtbc; 12-05-2009, 06:40 PM. Reason: add extra note

Comment

Originally posted by yorkin View Post