Financial Records

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Financial Records

After you have filed, what does the trustee look for in the investigation of financial records? What specific questions are asked?

Originally posted by squeeze View Post
    After you have filed, what does the trustee look for in the investigation of financial records? What specific questions are asked?
    After filing Ch 7, your estate is set on filing day. Some trustees (not all) will ask at the 341 meeting if there has been a change in your financial situation since filing.

Otherwise, unless the trustee suspects fraud or hiding of assets or you receive an inheritance within 180 days of filing, your financial records won't typically be looked at again after the 341 is over.
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

and when are your financial records are looked at after the 341 is over? and what is the purpose of this additional exploration?

Comment

and when are your financial records are looked at after the 341 is over? and what is the purpose of this additional exploration?
        Just be ready to have any/all documentation ready for any of your financial affairs should the TT request it. better to be prepared than sorry. I have been preparing/journaling everything for a year for my soon to be filed case. If i get a request for a document, i want to be able to just reach in a binder and pull it out.