top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can chapter 7 be used as leverage to negotiate with the creditor?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can chapter 7 be used as leverage to negotiate with the creditor?

This relates to a default judgment that has already been awarded. In other words, all the bad s*** that could happen has already happened.

As such, is there any risk of letting the creditor know that I will most certainly file chapter 7 if we cannot work out a settlement?

Originally posted by squeeze View Post
    This relates to a default judgment that has already been awarded. In other words, all the bad s*** that could happen has already happened.

As such, is there any risk of letting the creditor know that I will most certainly file chapter 7 if we cannot work out a settlement?
    There are as many different answers to that question as there are judgment creditors.
    Pay no attention to anything I post. I graduated last in my class from a fly-by-night law school that no longer exists; I never studied or went to class; and I only post on internet forums when I'm too drunk to crawl away from the computer.

Comment

Care to expand on this? What could happen that hasn't already happened?

Comment

Leverage to do what?

Everyone threatens BK, it is a pointless threat. They know you could file BK, yet they still went ahead with the lawsuit and got the judgement. Now they have what they want. Your ONLY option to get out from under it is BK (Assuming it is dischargeable debt, and assuming they haven't filed a lien).

Comment

Care to expand on this? What could happen that hasn't already happened?
          Well, some creditors just refuse to negotiate the debt downward even though they know they'll get nothing in a chapter 7. Others would rather get 10% than get nothing. There are some, I am convinced, that get some kind of sadistic pleasure in knowing that they've forced someone into bankruptcy.