Food Allowance for family of 6?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Food Allowance for family of 6?

I was just looking through our past three months of statements (b/c that is when I started using my software), and we spend about $1,000/month on dining out and groceries.

Is that entirely too much for a family of 6?? About $800 of that is groceries and then the other $200 is dining out. Going out probably for one "real" meal once a week and then hitting the drive-thrus on the way to school or work, etc.
    Filed Ch.7 on 03/17
    Statement of Presumed abuse filed 707(b) 05/03
    Statement of Non-Abuse filed!!
    Discharged 06/23/10

Go here:

Pay no attention to anything I post. I graduated last in my class from a fly-by-night law school that no longer exists; I never studied or went to class; and I only post on internet forums when I'm too drunk to crawl away from the computer.

Comment

Thank you... I knew I'd seen it somewhere
      Filed Ch.7 on 03/17
      Statement of Presumed abuse filed 707(b) 05/03
      Statement of Non-Abuse filed!!
      Discharged 06/23/10

Comment

Question regarding the food allowance, we are a family of 4---if we take the full $752 allowance for food on our schedules, will that ever be questioned?

Or is anything OVER that where the flags start to go up?

For instance I was sitting here plugging numbers into the sched. J and put $600 for food. Can I put $752 and probably not have that questioned?

(We haven't hired a lawyer yet, I'm just running numbers on my own. )
        Last edited by JEM; 12-08-2009, 09:51 AM. Reason: typo

Comment

We are a family of 5 and I'm hoping to get by with $860 for food and $120 for school lunches on my schedule J. That is what we actually spend. I don't know if the age of the children is taken into consideration, but it makes sense to me that it will. A 15 year old eats a heck of a lot more than a 3 year old.