top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Confused in Indianapolis! Should we file as we are going to let 2nd house "go back"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Confused in Indianapolis! Should we file as we are going to let 2nd house "go back"

My husband and I married July 2008. I own a house that we live in in Indianapolis and he has a home in northern Indiana that he rents. We are still "in the hole" even with rent payments. His interest rate is approx 9% on that mortgage. It is with Bank of America and he has tried to renegotiate (as he is now receiving partial retirement from Civil Service), but since it is not our primary residence they will not consider anything. So he has decided to let it go back to bank.

His taxable income is less than $700 month. I work part-time as a nurse (just went part time end of year as I am going to graduate school - yes using student loans) and my annual income is just under $42000. We have had a lot of debt, own a Jeep 2009, payments about $500/month, have debts through credit counseling agency Green Path and the payments are $485 every other week, and another loan payment about $170 month. The mortgage payment on our principal residence is about $1100 (includes PITI) and we would want to stay in this house - interest rate is approx 6%.

My question is both my husband and I had filed BK in the past, mine was about 14 years ago and his was about 8-9 years ago. Both were chapter 7. (yea I know that's bad that we are back in this situation). We have both listened to Dave Ramsey, and that is why we went with trying to pay everything back, but with a foreclosure in the future is it best to file BK to protect ourselves?

Could we do Ch 7 again? I know laws have changed. Also, any advice on good attorneys in Indianapolis area?

Originally posted by basketsbears View Post
    Is it best to file BK to protect ourselves? Could we do Ch 7 again?
    Time-wise, you can file a chapter 7 again.