This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Corporate Credit Card and Chapter 13

I'm getting ready to file a Chapter 13. My wife is military and has a government credit card. I am a contractor and have a credit card issued for business purchases. Is there anything I can do to keep these after I file? Thank you!

Whether you can keep the credit cards or not depends on two things:

1. Are the cards in your names or your employers? If they are in your employers' names and your employer is responsible for paying the balance if you don't, then the cc's aren't your debt and therefore don't have to be listed when you file.

2. If the cards are in your names, can you ensure the balance on both cc's is zero on filing day? If yes, then you don't have to list the cards because you don't owe any debt on them.

Here's the bad news.....the major cc's trade information between them. If one cc finds out you filed, even if you don't list these specific two cc's, the cc lenders may decide to cancel your cards anyway. Start planning ahead now for what you'll do if you end up losing one or both cards.