odd question/ publishing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

odd question/ publishing

Hi, I have a strange question. I have a writing degree, and years ago began studying and honing my skills to write novels. I have several good half-finished novels, and right now am working on completing my latest novel, which I believe will be good enough to publish. (All last year I was working on it). Since this book was planned, worked on in this period prior to BK and will probably be finished before I actually go into BK-- Would any income from this book be considered a windfall like a lottery ticket. Would the raw manuscript be considered an asset if I publish, and would all my other manuscripts have "value" as opposed to "hobbiest" work? Should I delay publishing or signing a contract until after the BK? (Authors are paid for Advanced copies)

This book can have a value anywhere from "0" dollars to six figures. So the value is not established, and it might be utterly valueless. If it has value though, will the trustee come after what I make on it (if anything) in the future. If accepted for publication, this book will probably take up to 2 years to publish, so when and if I sign the contract, I would have to wait 2 years until it was actually on the book stands. I do not know if the "Advance" is given before the books are actually printed and out on the shelves. The advance for a first time novelist are only about 5000 for the first printing, so it is not enough income to live off of.

This is a weird post, right?
    Not all those who wander are lost....

--J. R. R. Tolkien

Seems similar to a outstanding lawsuit that is expected to bring $$$ which the trustee would view as income. Are you going for 13 or 7?

Comment

This is a weird post, right?
      On the contrary, you have some very legitimate questions.