Need some advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need some advice

Hey everyone. I am a recent graduate who is considering filing for bankruptcy for my student loans in a couple of years. The reason I say a couple of years is for a cosigner release clause that I, for personal and moral reasons, must meet. I'll explain my situation and then you can tell me what you guys think.

First and foremost I want to state that in no way, shape, or form am I attempting to place blame on anyone but myself. I lived under a financial rock when I was in college, and the most I had to do with my financial aid was to come home and sign the FAFSA that my mom had already filled out. With neither of my parents ever going to college, I should've foreseen the dilemna this would create. But, I digress.

So after graduation, I sit down and assess the damage. All in all, approximately 140k in student loan debt... for a Bachelor's degree... in psychology. Ok, I can handle it, let me just find a job. So the hunt begins, but every job that I can get with this degree I could've gotten out of high school, and only pays $9-$11/hr. Luckily, I was able to get a job at a used car lot as a salesman. Needless to say if it wasn't for this bit of good fortune I would have defaulted after my first payment. And with this job I can barely maintain any kind of decent lifestyle, and I'm making between 40-50k a year. Without consolidating, my student loan payments at this point would be around $1300 a month. But these institutions have to have some options, right?