Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Approved for $2,000 Captial One card just days after discharge

Chapter 7 was discharged 3 days ago.

Went on Capital One's preapproval website and they preapproved me for a card with a $19 annual fee. That is probably the lowest AF I've ever heard of, but I still don't like AFs so I declined. Looked around their website and they listed a $0 AF student card that google told me had pretty loose application standards. Although I'm middle-aged, I actually am a student so I decided to apply.

Instant approval, $2,000 limit. It's the Journey Student Reward card, 19.8% APR, 1.25% cash back on all purchases. Oddly, the application never asked me if I was a student. It would appear that anyone could apply.

I'm a bit surprised at both the instant approval and the relatively high credit limit. $500 territory was what I was figuring. My income probably played a part in determining the $2,000 limit.

Good and surprising news! Perhaps rebuilding won't be as tedious as I thought it would be.
    Chapter 7, above median, no asset. Discharged with no UST involvement.

Congrats. I got the same offer and now after 5 months my CL was increased to 3000.00

Comment

Originally posted by TXskyblue View Post
      Chapter 7 was discharged 3 days ago.

Went on Capital One's preapproval website and they preapproved me for a card with a $19 annual fee. That is probably the lowest AF I've ever heard of, but I still don't like AFs so I declined. Looked around their website and they listed a $0 AF student card that google told me had pretty loose application standards. Although I'm middle-aged, I actually am a student so I decided to apply.

Instant approval, $2,000 limit. It's the Journey Student Reward card, 19.8% APR, 1.25% cash back on all purchases. Oddly, the application never asked me if I was a student. It would appear that anyone could apply.