Social security and forms I, J

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Social security and forms I, J

My husband is a disabled vet receiving disability at 100%. He also receives Social Security disability. I am a retired teacher. Our total income is $73,380. The median in Arkansas for a family of 2 is $48,781. We are obviously above median, but pass the means test easily since we don't have to include the Social Scurity Disability, and we have a lot of expenses. But it is hard to not have some disposable income on schedules I,J, which does include the social security. Our attorney says that they can't keep us from filing ch. 7 just because of the Social Security and VA disability, but I am worried. Is there anyone on here who had a positive disposable monthly income on Schedule J after adding in Social Security and was still allowed to file ch. 7?

Thank you and your husband for your service, and welcome to the Forum.

Our situation may not be exactly like yours, but it may help. We filed CH7 in December 2007. We were trying for a CH13, but when I lost my FT job, that became impossible. I still had my PT job and the Unemployment Compensation from my FT job. My husband was fully retired and got Social Security. We also had a yearly stipend from a Retirement instrument. We had a little disposable income, but not much. I learned to recycle aluminum cans big time.