Need Advice Regarding Chapter 7 - WA State

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need Advice Regarding Chapter 7 - WA State

I am new to the whole BK thing and was just looking for some advice on what to possibly expect BEFORE I file. My husband and I are looking for an attorney right now etc. A little History :

-Husband was laid off from job, though I work. He's getting unemployment but will run out in a few months.
    - We have been keeping up on mortgage, credit card payments and auto payments and have not missed any at all. We currently have credit scores in the low 800

But I feel all that is coming to an end soon as he cannot find a job and unemployment will be running out. Though unemployment was always temporary to begin with ( I get that )

- We have two auto loans. ( one upside down ) and one motorcycle loan ( also a little upside down by about a $1,000 or 2 ) So nothing is obviously paid off and I have no equity in any of these veichles except our truck.

-$38,000 in credit card debt. Will take 22 yrs to pay off at the min payments I can only afford right now. I would love to pay extra into them but am strapped for cash with mortgage payment/.auto's/ and utilities/ every day living etc.
    Due to money being tight with his job loss we have had to live on credit cards for food/ gas / or even if we want a little entertainment here and there.

Was told to do a HAMP Loan Mod -to get payments lowered. But if husband can't get a job is there a point to get this re-structured now if I may have to walk away from the house in a year ? I have no idea what to do...I feel like Im killing myself here with all this TRYING AND TRYING to keep up my good credit score.
    What are the right steps here ? Anyone that has been in this situation, would love some feedback. Thank You !!!

Welcome to the forum Keep reading all you can to learn about the BK process - before, during and after.