top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Capital One Auto Loan intact after BK even though discharge Capital One CC debt?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Capital One Auto Loan intact after BK even though discharge Capital One CC debt?

Is it possible to keep a Capital One Auto Loan intact after BK even though discharge Capital One CC debt?
    7/8/11 Filed Ch. 7
    8/18/11 341 Meeting

anyone?
    7/8/11 Filed Ch. 7
    8/18/11 341 Meeting

Comment

I'm definitely no expert, but our lawyer told us that if we didn't reaffirm our car loan (Chase Bank) they probably wouldn't try to take it as long we stayed current. We also had a credit card with them that is being discharged ($14,000).
      I was worried about that too, but we just received our papers to reaffirm the car.
      Stopped charging 6-1-10 - Filed 1-25-11 - 341 2-24-11 - Discharged 4-26-11 - Closed 4-29-11
      Any opinion I give is strictly that! I am not a lawyer.

Comment

So you are not going to reaffirm the car loan, but you just got the papers to reaffirm? I'm confused... What is reaffirm? Sorry, I'm new at this. I'm letting one car go, and buying another which I will keep current. The one I'm letting go is financed through an unrelated credit union, and I'm going to let them repo it. Currently I'm current on the terms, but will discontinue paying now until I file (in 2 mos). I'm buying a new car with financing through Cap One Auto. I'm letting a Cap One cc go in the BK. Will they be able to take my car away since they're Cap One?

Do we get to choose which car we keep?
        7/8/11 Filed Ch. 7
        8/18/11 341 Meeting

Comment

Reaffirm means, you agree to keep the orginal terms of the auto loan post bk. The big downside to reaffirm is, post bk should you default the lender can still sue you for a deficiency balance.