Business or personal debt?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Business or personal debt?

Hello all. I've been on this site for quite some time now as I knew that one day we would end up having to file BK. This site is wonderful!

The time for us to file has come! I found out that one of our creditors has filed a lawsuit against my husband. It was just filed on 4/20/11. He has not been served yet. although I expect that he will be served some time this week.

We plan on filing a Chapter 7, and I plan on filing pro se. We met with an attorney back in 2008 and I decided then that I would go pro se. I am a paralegal and I know that the paralegals are the ones that actually prepare the petitions, so I can do this!

I do plan on meeting with another attorney, just to get some answers on questions that I have, but I figured I'd ask here too!

Way back when, probably around 2004 or so, my husband and I got into the real estate market, buying and selling property. All of the properties that we could not sell have since gone into foreclosure, most over 2 years ago. Upon our accountant's advice, we formed a corporation for tax purposes. Again, this was back in 2004/2005. The corporation was dissolved in 2007/2008. Some, (I'd say 2 or 3 credit cards) were in the corporation's name, however, either mine and/or my husband's social security number was used to actually get us the credit, as the corporation had recently been formed at that time.