top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Credit monitoring: May i recommend it....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Credit monitoring: May i recommend it....

I am just about 7 months out of chapter 7 BK and I have been monitoring my credit reports very closely for the last several months.

I have seen my scores fluctuate a bit, but mostly they have gone up thanks to numerous disputes and concerns initiated by me.

Currently I have two tools I used (and I am not an employee or affiliate of any of the two companies I am about to mention). The first tool is IdentityGuard.com. I get alerts and emails when there is any activity from any of the 3 credit bureaus immediately via email. This has helped me correct things right away, whereas before I simply never bothered to review my report until something went wrong.

IG also does quarterly credit score updates and most of the services they offer are under $15 a month and worth every penny.

The second tool I use is the Credit Doctor software that contains various tools/tips for improving your credit scores and cleaning up your reports. It has great form letters and does most of the work for you. It's almost as easy as typing your name. I paid about $30 for it for 3 account users.

The best thing I can tell anyone out of BK is too clean up your report as soon as you can. Check addresses, duplicate accounts, balances, incorrect info and get it changed as soon as you can. This has helped me a lot!!!

ALSO: Have inquiries older than 2 years removed by writing a form letter with the dates to all of the bureaus.

-Compare each report and see what accounts are missing/incorrect.
    Last edited by prettyobk; 11-30-2010, 05:39 PM.
    Filed: 11/9/09 341 Meeting:12/21/09 No assets! Discharged: 5/24/10
    10/2010:EQUIFAX: 589, TRANSUNION: 644, EXPERIAN: 591

This is some good information, thanks

Originally posted by prettyobk View Post