Navy Federal CU = Love

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Navy Federal CU = Love

Just wanted to let everyone know that if you are eligable at all to join this CU, I highly recommend it. I do not have any military connections to get in but I am a contractor for the gov't and apparently that was enough. You can chose "contractor" then "non dod civilian" (or something like that) and then you can pick the agency you work for. And I was approved very quickly.

Also, they are very bankrupcty friendly and I think as long as you're a year or so out and have done some decent rebuilding they will be flexible with you. I signed up yesterday and applied for their credit card. They called today and said they just needed proof of my income and then everything looked good. So, I'll be very happy to get rid of my ugly HSBC reward zone card...

Anyways just wanted to pass this along incase any of you had the means to join this CU (or were looking for a good credit union).
    BK Ch 7 Discharged 09/2009 | Anything I say can and should be used as friendly advice and sharing of experiences with an unbiased viewpoint.
    Scores: EQ 745 EX 704 TU 710 as of 08/15/2012

Dear Amy26:

I am happy for you!!

Be cautious of putting too many 'eggs' in Navy Federal's basket. They cross-collateralize everything. They will take $$ out of your checking or savings account (if you have one with them) to pay a bill if you are late.

They are BK friendly to everyone except current members who find themselves in the position of having to file BK.

As always, caveat emptor and ymmv...
    ~~ Filed Over Median Income Chapter 7: 12/17/2010 ~~ 341 Held: 1/12/2011 ~~ Discharged: 03/16/2011 ~~
    Not an attorney - just an opinionated woman.

Comment

Hehe thanks... I hopefully will never be in that situation and even up till I filed I wasn't late on any of my bills. But ty for the forewarning... Besides, beggers can't be choosers!