Title car Loan before BK?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Title car Loan before BK?

I'm turning in my paper work to file chapter 13 this week. I recently purchased a second car so my wife could work. Being a mechanic I found a newer car with a bad engine and subsequently made the purchase and replaced the engine with borrowed money from my brother.
    I now own the car free and clear and it is worth about $6500.
    I owe my brother $1700.
    I can't borrow any money from a bank do to my poor credit and the only source I found was a Title loan company. They require me to borrow at least $2500 and charge outrageous interest (5% per month) plus they want to charge me $200 in loan fees.
    I know this is a bad deal. However I was thinking that since I was filing BK that it would eliminate the interest and I would only be paying the principal back plus the trustee's cut. And I was thinking that it would be better to have a car "financed" so I could get the exemption rather than having a car with equity in which I would have to pay in off in my BK plan. I live in California and I believe the allowable car expense is $2500.
    Opinions please, I don't want to make a major mistake.
    Don't take life too seriously, you won't get out alive.

You Need to Learn More About California Exemptions

If you want to get the loan to pay your brother, don't bother. It will be a preference and the trustee can go after your brother for the money. As a legal matter, your brother's loan will be discharged in bankruptcy. However, that doesn't mean you can't repay him anyway. Just don't do it until after your plan is confirmed at which time you can pay him if you can take the money from elsewehre in your budget. He may have to wait until after you after your done with BK.