top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Any experience out there with filing Chapter 13 and keeping a security clearance?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Any experience out there with filing Chapter 13 and keeping a security clearance?

My wife and I should be filing our Chapter 13 this week. We both currently have security clearances. She is in the military, and I am a contractor; we both need our security clearances for our jobs. I was wondering if anyone out there had any experience with this? If I lose my clearance, I will most likely lose my job. I'm not sure how filing Chapter 13 will affect my status. I'm sure that filing will trigger a review and I'm sure I'll have to answer some questions at work. I'm filing to get control of my finances and will be in much better shape with the plan we have worked out. I would appreciate any advice there might be out there. Thanks!

I surely don't know but I don't envy your position. I have a review due at some point and I expect bad things in that regard...

Comment

Call the security officer and ask how it works - or you can ask your supervisor. They are there to help you and trust me, you arent the first person with a security clearance that has had to file BK in recent years While some people do end up losing their clearances, it becomes a judgment call on an individual basis because they will look at how and why you got yourself where you are, having to file.

Look for the Directive on Adjudicative Guidelines, specifically under Financial Considerations (guideline F); there are 13 categories that will cause denial or reduction of a security clearance.

ETA: Its DOD Directive 5220.6

Comment

DOD Directive 5220.6 is at http://www.dtic.mil/whs/directives/c...df/522006p.pdf. Interesting.