top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Are Fines and Administrative Liens discharged in ch 7?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Are Fines and Administrative Liens discharged in ch 7?

My bk attorney told me not to spend money on any properties I'm not keeping, so I didn't purchase landlord permits on all the properties I'm losing. Now the City referred me to the Code Enforcement Board for a hearing, and they have the ability to impose fines and "administrative liens." I don't know if that means a lien on me or the property. Do the fines and administrative liens go away with bankruptcy? If the liens are on the property would they go away with foreclosure?
    I'm not a lawyer, but here's a link to my favorite bankruptycy law blog: http://www.bankruptcyorlando.com/

No, fines cannot be discharged.

Definitely not any fines from a government agency.
    My comments are solely based on my opinion. The information and links that I have
    posted are provided solely for informational purposes, and do not constitute legal advice

Comment

It will really depend on how your state defines these fines. The section of the BK code that excepts fines and penalties is 523(a)(7).

I wouldn't be confident in saying that the type of administrative fines you are discussing are not dischargeable, they very well might be discharged. But again, it will depend on how your state actually defines these types of fines.

Comment

It would behoove you not to take a chance and advise the codes meeting of what occurred. In our little county, they listen pretty well and can be worked with. We are fortunate in this way. I once combined two lots to one and got a surprise tax bill. The reason was, I gave the higher lot number on the joining two parcels instead of the lower. I went calm and cool and they forgave the homestead exemption and gave back $200 bucks for a clerical error I was not aware of. It was in the rules but how would I know.