boats and other "luxury" items

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

boats and other "luxury" items

OK - my first post here - I did make a search already and didn't find answers to my specific questions about luxury items so take it easy on me.. maybe I didn't FIND the answers that ARE here . . .

I am a small seasonal business owner - sole proprietor - struggling in this horrible economy. Things aren't looking too good and we are now having to seriously consider chap 7 due to 90K in unsecurred C/C debt we have been paying on for 3 years and now don't have the funds to pay. We cannot afford health ins either. I own 2 trucks and a boat - all paid for. Values for these are well over $10K EACH. Must these be sold???

Also - when things were a LOT better, we, like many others, bought things like quads big screen TVs, etc (also paid for). I also have an expensive watch that was a GIFT 18 years ago that is still worth well over a grand. I also have some art work that ran me over $4K - a wedding present to my wife 17 years ago. Are these things gonna have to get sold if we file chap 7???

JB
    Last edited by jb4lcm; 06-02-2010, 11:58 AM. Reason: oops

It all comes down to exemptions. What state are you in and what is your state's exemption scheme.

To my knowledge no state provides an explicit exemption for a boat. Thus, it is either a tool of trade or your state has a wild card exemption. Tool of trade means you use the boat to earn living. Wild card is simply an amount of money or equity you can exempt in anything you want. Aside from California system II, I don't think any state has a $10K+ wild card exemption. Bottom line, in chapter 7, the boat is, most likely, gone.

The other stuff you mentioned will probably be exempt in some way (except the Quads).
    Last edited by HHM; 06-02-2010, 03:42 PM.

Comment

ARIZONA.