Question about a car....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question about a car....

I searched for this but all I keep coming up with is related to AFTER bk, my question is in regards to PRIOR to bk. Here is my question...

I have about 7-8k equity in my vehicle because I have been paying $100 extra for the past four years or so. I only have 6 payments left! So, I can either keep it as it is almost paid off and reaffirm OR I can trade it in on a new car. My vehicle is an 06' with 118k miles and the body is about perfect as well as the interior. It needs to be serviced, have brakes and there is a problem with the driveshaft that I was told would cost $1k for parts alone but I could choose to drive it as it is. Which is what I have been doing.

My question is.....In looking at cars it seems that the base rate has gone up since I last bought a car. How much is TOO much to pay for a car before bk? I want to do it before my credit is ruined. My lawyer said it was fine for me to do it. I'd just like your opinions as to the dollar figure that would be 'acceptable'. I am not looking at a Mercedes just a nice Honda, but base rate is like 25k.

Whatcha think!?
    I am NOT an attorney. This is NOT advice.

well - first off, you need to calculate the payments on a car that is 25K - as well as what your ins. premium would be currently and following filing BK if you are in a state that allows credit profiling for insurance purposes. Everything depends upon your salary and what you can comfortably afford. Remember new cars break down as well, so you would have to consider purchasing the extended warranty as well - and oil changes tire rotations, etc will still need to be done. Consider a rental vehicle - they have already depreciated in value, and ususally are required to have 10K or less on the odometer to be sold - or you could look at last years model. Depreciation is a witch..