Ch 7 filing with mortgage mod pending

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ch 7 filing with mortgage mod pending

Has anybody done this and can you tell me what happened. My lawyer will be filing the petition the first part of Oct. and I am 3 months behind on my mortgage with BoA. My lawyer told me it will depend on the bank whether they will continue with the mod or request the past due amount be paid or move out. Personnaly I think the mod process is a joke, its been over a year now and nothing!.. and they wonder why there are still so many foreclosures

I can't tell you what your bank will choose to do. But as you note, many banks end up doing nothing in the end, regardless of whether you file for bankruptcy. It's a very frustrating process, and you have my sympathy.
    I am a bankruptcy attorney practicing in Riverside and San Bernardino Counties.
    Disclaimer: This post is not legal advice, and I am not your attorney.

Comment

I just wanted to see if anybody else has done this and what happened when they did it.

Comment

I was in the exact situation as you tiger, I think. I was 3 months behind. I sent in a mod application in July I think, and according to the bank's web site, it won't be reviewed until 9/30. The only thing I got from them was a letter stating that they will not be pursuing a foreclosure at this time and if I wanted them to stop sending me statements. I didn't respond. I haven't heard from them since. I had my 341 yesterday, which I sailed through. Waiting for my Report of No Distribution.
        Filed August 20 341 on September 23 Report of No Distribution - September 24 Case Discharged and Closed on November 23!!!

Comment