Attended 341 meeting. Trustee states I need to ammend my schedule C

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Attended 341 meeting. Trustee states I need to ammend my schedule C

Hello my forum friends. I filed a ch 7 on 9-16-2010, attended the 341 10-22-2010. I filed in Missouri, but im a resident of AK. I claimed MO exemptions on hhg. The trustee states that I have to be a resident of MO to claim MO exemptions, so I have 10 days to file the ammended schedule C. Is this true. Im a pro se filer.

Hi smoothdaddy,

Where did you live from March 16 to Sept 16, 2008?
    The state you lived in for the majority of this time is the state exemptions you use.

(assuming you haven't lived for the last 2 years where you are now)

Hope this doesn't through too much of a monkey wrench into your filing...

Tom in Colo
    Ch7 filed 5/12/2010.....341 meeting 6/30/2010....report of no distribution 8/15/2010.....discharged 10/01/2010.....closed 11/09/2010

Comment

And if you've lived in more than a single state during the 2 years prior to your filing date, you use the exemptions of the state in which you lived for the 180 days immediately preceding the 2 year period.

Like Tom, I also hope the news you can't use MO exemptions doesn't mess you up.
      There are two secrets for success in life:
      1.) Never tell everything you know.

Comment

It gets more complex than that, unfortunately. Some States do not allow non-residents to use their exemptions. So, if you moved, but the prior State would "technically" be the State exemption scheme to use... you would not be able to. In this case, you are forced to use the Federal Exemptions.

Since we are talking about assets and the Trustee has already determined that your assets are not currently exempted under the exemption scheme (statutes) that you used, you (smoothdaddy) are exposed. You need to determine which scheme/state to use and then apply those statutes correctly to your property.