top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Claiming homestead on sole property in another state.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Claiming homestead on sole property in another state.

I have been sued in Texas on a credit card debt, but reside in California most of the time while taking care of a relative.

I have no assets, savings or job. All I have is a joint ownership with my brother in a $75,000 home I live at in Texas, which on average is 2 to 3 months out of the year.

There is no mortage on it and my brother doesn't use it. When I am not living there it is vacant. I pay the property taxes on it every year and keep the utilities on, which I have been doing so for roughly 10 years.

Other than a partial ownership in the house in Texas and a bank account with $100 dollars, I don't own anything in Texas. My driver's license is from California but can't afford a car. At 60 it's been hard to find work.

1. How can I protect the home in Texas if I am living most of the year in California?

2. Can I file for bankruptcy in California and claim a homestead protection for my home in Texas?

3. Should I file for bankruptcy in Texas after restablishing my residence for 90 days?

Thanks.

In reality or theory, you cannot live in one state and homestead in another. You must live most of the year 51 percent in one homestead in one state. If you desire to protect the house from a Judgement, TX is a homestead state. BUT, you have to establish it and also (check your local state laws) here in FL you have Jan to Mrch to register for homestead, have your DL in the state you live and have lived there for six months. You can sign and record an affidavit of residency perhaps and get by. In FL they will check due to the snow birds that come here a month or two and get the Homestead exemption. Not a good idea. What keeps you in CA when you have a home in TX?