what happens if I walk away????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

what happens if I walk away????

What would happen if I walked away from house,leaving 1st mortage and a 2nd.Upside down on value,These 2 mortages were included in my 7 discharge,I did not reaffirm.

Since the second is worthless,if I decide to keep house,Could I try to get better rate on second,if I walk away they would get nothing.I am try to decide what the right thing to do is..Ive thought about staying in my house until I can get fha mortage,try to get approved,if approved,then walk away so foreclosure would not hurt me in getting loan,There are great deals out there.Any help??

Comment

I'm a bit confused. What's your goal here? Do you ultimately want to keep the house or walk away from it?
      I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
      06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
      07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
      10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
      01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
      09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
      06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
      08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
      Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

Until he (she?) comes back...same question kinda. We have now had the come to jesus moment and realize it is better to walk away from the house. With an 88k second on it (upside down by like $70k...

1. Does the second go away quietly if we let it go to forclosure without filing 7? Of course we would probably file 7...but I still want to ask the question.
        2. Does the second go away quietly if we file 7...no choice for them right?
        $70k- Unsecured Debt
        $88k- Secured Debt (HELOC/2nd)
        $200k- Land investment gone bad. (Land secured)
        1st- $366k / House Value- $300k

Comment

Originally posted by BKINAZ View Post