top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Are you able to obtain a forebearance agreement during a Chapter 7 BK?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Are you able to obtain a forebearance agreement during a Chapter 7 BK?

My attorney is trying to convince me to let go of the house, we are 3 months behind now, its FHA insured.

What are my other options if I decide to reaffirm the mortgage?

We are still on the fence and cannot make up our mind, but we are not doing a Chapter 13.

Originally posted by optimistic1 View Post
    My attorney is trying to convince me to let go of the house, we are 3 months behind now, its FHA insured.

We are still on the fence and cannot make up our mind, but we are not doing a Chapter 13.
    Okay, I'm not a lawyer nor do I play one on t.v. BUT in a Chapter 7 I believe you either have to surrender the house or reaffirm the mortgage. If you reaffirm the mortgage and have to walk away later you will be on the hook for that money. You won't be able to file Chapter 7 again for many years. You can file chapter 13 after a while but that still means you are on the hook for a portion of the amount.

I think after the automatic stay is lifted your mortgage company can work with you to try and get a forebearance but again they have foreclosed on people while they were still in a workout plan. Think long and hard before you reaffirm that debt. Can you rent somewhere else or even in the same town for less than what you are paying on your house ? Think of it in business terms and try and leave the emotion out of it. You need to do what is financially sound. Good Luck to you.

And if anyone has better advice or needs to correct what I've stated above. Please feel free.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Contacted Lawyer October 2009~Filled out Chapter 7 Petition January 2010 ~Credit Counseling Jan 2010
    Have yet to file Chapter 7

Comment