top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Are merchants paid from Credit Card Companies included in BK?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Are merchants paid from Credit Card Companies included in BK?

Hi All,

If one includes a credit card with recent charges (e.g. incurred less than 30 days ago) in a Ch. 7 filing, would the merchants with whom you paid via credit card still be paid by the credit card company? That is, Visa (for example) is not going to go back to my local dentist and refuse to pay the charge he submitted for my services, will they?

Any insight is appreciated!

Thanks.

No, your lender will be paid. If Visa has a problem with the charge, they will object and do their best to make YOU pay them back for what they paid your dentist.
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

lrprn, I just want to clarify because your response seems a bit confusing.

The merchant, (i.e. your dentist) gets paid notwithstanding your BK. The credit card companies do not go back to the merchants and treat a discharged debt as a charge-back.

Comment

Originally posted by uofaguy View Post
        Hi All,

If one includes a credit card with recent charges (e.g. incurred less than 30 days ago) in a Ch. 7 filing, would the merchants with whom you paid via credit card still be paid by the credit card company? That is, Visa (for example) is not going to go back to my local dentist and refuse to pay the charge he submitted for my services, will they?